Babysteps

Carlos was an awesome trainer, he saw me struggling with heavy weights, but he didn’t tell me to go lighter. Carlos asked me if I want to do the treadmill, I told him about my fall. He ask me if I had another walker with a sturdy plate on it so he can put weights on it. I was excited to bring it the next day. Strolling my walker around must be great for my legs and arms. The next day, Carlos put weights on my wheelchair/walker. 1 45 pounds. It was hard, but I know I’ll be pushing heavier soon. Carlos took his time work on my strenght. I was in most of his classes too.I was getting stronger, I was more sturdy. I was able to do eyeliner and tweeze my brows myself. I remember tweezing was so scary hard. I still let others do it for me most of the time. I asked Carlos,”Can you walk me around the gym, I’ll leave my walker near the other employees?” He said ok. I put my walker aside and walked, Carlos beside me. (Most Summers my parents brung me to the park and let me go walking on the grass, barefoot. I was taking 20 steps) I began walking and the gym was busy. I was so afraid to fall on machines or strangers. I told myself,”Life is like a bicycle and to keep your balance is to keep moving.” I use to Google quotes. People were so active. He laugh and told me it’s a public gym. People stop there workouts and staired at me, smiling. Holding hand signals. Jessica the employee video taped me walking. 

It felt amazing seeing people smiling, my family was so use to seeing me everyday to realize I was improving. I was grabbing my fist thight, trying to focus. I walked around 1 lap without falling. I was so proud of myself.

                        To be continued….

Author: officiallythyda

My life was heading in the right direction. I was liked, I had so much friends, I was talented. Then on July 19, 2003 a vessel burst in my head and I fell into a 3 month coma. I woke up and was layying on a bed, in an empty room. I heard Beep Beep Beep! I heard a cry and moved my pupils to find my mom crying looking out the window. What happen? I couldn't talk or move my body. I found out I was in coma, I was at the hospital. Waking up was a mistake, why did god choose me to be handicap and noone else? I leave the hospital still so weak on a wheelchair, I went through so much to be where I am today. God knows what he's doing, be patient Right now I inspire a good amount of people. I go to Planet Fitness, I go to the gym with my wheelchair, the trainer or someone put weights on my chair and I walk around the gym with it. Life is so good, everything happens for a reason. Follow me!

Leave a Reply

